Skip to main content Skip to submmenu Blackthorn Resources - logo

The Board


Managing Director
Chief Executive Officer

Mark joined the company on 1 January 2014 as its Chief Executive Officer. Mark Mitchell agreed to join the Board as its Managing Director effective 15th May 2014. Mark has extensive business experience in the mining industry, having held senior operational and general management roles with Perserverance Corporation, MPI Mines/Leviathan Resources, Lihir Gold and more recently Newcrest Mining. Mark brings operational and corporate experience in a variety of fields including management responsibility for the construction, development and operation of mine site activities and services in Australia and challenging overseas environments, longer term strategic planning, management of social and community engagement programs and leadership development. Mark holds a Bachelor of Engineering (Chemical Engineering) from the University of New South Wales and is a member of The Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy.


Non-Executive Director

Nicki BowmanNicki Bowman joined the Blackthorn Resources' Board having gained extensive experience as a corporate and commercial lawyer in private practice within a Top 10 Australian law firm. Nicki has held senior corporate counsel positions in BHP and Bluescope Steel, before moving into senior management and executive positions.  Her experience included key roles in merger and acquisition transactions, leading contract negotiations, and managing corporate restructures. Nicki holds Bachelor of Economics and Bachelor of Law degrees from Sydney University and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


Non-Executive Chairman

Mike OppenheimerMike Oppenheimer is a senior executive with over 30 years’ experience in the resources sector. He has extensive business leadership and value delivery experience in the international mining industry. Now a principal and founder of a mining investment and advisory group, Mike’s most recent CEO position was with Ferrexpo Plc, where he established the iron ore company’s business model and led it through a successful IPO in London in 2007. Under his leadership, the company experienced strong growth in share value resulting in Ferrexpo being included in the FTSE 100 index. Prior to his successful stewardship of Ferrexpo, Mike was with BHP Billiton since 1988 in senior positions, including roles on the Executive Committee reporting to the CEO. His experience includes leadership of BHP Billiton’s businesses in minerals and petroleum, and he played a significant role in the BHP and Billiton merger, integrating the energy coal businesses. Mike was appointed Chairman of the Board on 6 February 2014.


Non-Executive Director

Derek CarterDerek Carter has over 40 years’ experience in exploration and mine geology, including over 17 years in management of ASX-listed exploration companies. He held senior positions in the Shell Group of Companies and Burmine Ltd before founding Minotaur Exploration in 1993. Derek was Managing Director of Minotaur from its inception until 2010 when he became Chairman of the company. He is also Chairman of Highfield Resources Ltd and is a director of Mithril Resources Ltd, both of which are listed on the ASX. He is currently a member of the South Australian Resources Development Board and the South Australian Minerals and Petroleum Experts Group.


Non-Executive Director

Roger has over 40 years' experience in the international mining industry, covering business and mine management, strategy and business development, project management, engineering and technical services, as well as the management of logistics, environment and government/community relations. Roger's most recent position was Senior Vice President , Copper with Teck Resources. Prior to this role Roger has worked in various senior management roles with BHP Billiton Base Metals in Chile, Papua New Guinea, the United States and South Australia. Roger is a director of ASX listed Metminco Ltd and the private entity Ok Tedi Mining Ltd, as well as being a fellow of The Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy and the Institution of Engineers, Australia.


Non-Executive Director

Peter Kalkandis is a full-time employee of Glencore Australia Pty Limited, a subsidiary of Glencore PLC and is Head of Glencore’s Base Metals Desk in Australia.